Recipes, Uncategorized

Honey Raisin Scones

Real men make scones (or at least mine does!) I don’t know if I’ve really mentioned this before, but my husband is a fantastic cook. Better than I am. He bakes too. Granted, he’s very much a man’s man in many regards, but he can cook like no one’s business. I do a majority of the cooking/baking, but on his days off, he loves to put on a mean spread for us to enjoy. Last evening he put together these fabulous scones just because he felt like it.

What a man.

The recipe for these was found on honey.com and he tweaked it just a bit.

I had one for breakfast with my coffee and it was delicious.

So I had another one.

And more coffee to go with it.

If you’re a tea person, I’m sure that would be lovely too.

Honey Raisin Scones

  • 2 1/4 C Flour
  • 1 TB Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 C Butter, cut up
  • 1/2 C Raisins (we used golden ones)
  • 2 tsp Lemon Zest
  • 1/2 C Honey
  • 1/2 C Milk
  • 1 Egg

Combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut in butter until it resembles coarse crumbs. Add raisins and lemon zest. In a separate bowl, whisk together honey, milk, and the egg. Add to the dry mixture and stir until just combined. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead @10 times. Form into a large circle and cut into 8 wedges. Lay wedges on lightly greased baking sheet and bake 12-15 minutes at 375 degrees F.

2 thoughts on “Honey Raisin Scones”

Leave a comment